Tartine of Chanterelles, Portuguese Peppers and Gruyere

January 11, 2012

Foraging for Mushrooms in Oregon

While you were sipping cocktails and yucking it up with sexy assistants at your cushy office job, I was trudging the hills of Oregon looking for a morsel to eat, dear David. That’s right, I spent the entire Fall with an empty mushroom basket. I searched high and low, under leaf and stump only to find a few empty shot gun shells and a small plastic bag smeared with a white powdery residue.

I spent many an evening in dive bars, bowling alleys and VFWs. I pushed my way through cobwebs, past decrepit taxidermy to the sticky bar top at the Safari Club. I listened to the spittle-soaked, slurry speech of Estacada hillbillies in hopes of getting a tip on good mushroom hunting grounds.

Then came the rain. Drizzle became downpour and when it stopped, thousands of toothless Oxy zombies were crawling the hills with gunny sacks. Yellow chanterelles were popping up faster than I could pick them. I filled my basket, then a few paper grocery bags and ultimately the entire bed of the wobbly pick-up truck I won in a card game from Pickle-Arm Pete the night before.

I spent days cleaning mushrooms that ranged from delicate sprouts to meaty monsters with caps the size of my hand. I slaved over the stove making gratins, soups and risottos to create recipes you could use to impress your stable, David. You owe me.

This Philly Cheese Fake Steak recipe should impress your current flame — your curly-locked, vegetarian, South Philly Princess. I think that’s a perm by the way.

1 crispy baguette
1/2 pound sliced gruyere
Sauteed green Portuguese peppers or poblanos
Sauteed chanterelle mushrooms
Caramelized shallots

The Shallots
2 tablespoons butter
3 large purple shallots, peeled and sliced
1/2 cup Nero d’Avola or other Sicilian red wine that is un-oaked
1/2 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
Sea salt

Heat butter in a large saute pan over medium heat. Add the shallots and cook for 2 minutes, stirring to coat. Add the wine, salt and thyme leaves. Cover and cook slowly over a low flame until the wine evaporates and the shallots are caramelized, stirring occasionally, approximately 30 to 40 minutes.

The Peppers
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 green Portuguese Peppers or 2 small poblano peppers, thinly sliced
Sea salt
Sea salt and freshly cracked pink peppercorns

Heat the oil in medium saute pan over medium heat. Add the peppers and cook until soft about 4 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

The Mushrooms
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
1 1/2 pounds sliced chanterelles mushrooms
3 tablespoons finely chopped fresh parsley leaves
Sea salt and freshly cracked pink peppercorns

Heat oil in a large saute pan over high heat. Add the mushrooms and cook for 3 to 4 minutes until the mushrooms are golden brown. Add the butter, salt and cook a minute more. Stir in the parsley and cracked pink peppercorns. Top with slices of gruyere and cover the pan to melt the cheese.

Cut the baguette on one side and spoon in the shallots, peppers and mushrooms. Serve with a French farmhouse ale, a funky gamay or a glass of Coenobium Rusticum.

3 Responses to “Tartine of Chanterelles, Portuguese Peppers and Gruyere”

  1. coat of arms Says:

    Good day! I simply want to offer you a big thumbs up for the excellent information you have right here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your website for more soon.


  2. When I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I recieve four emails with the same comment. Is there an easy method you are able to remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!


  3. E poi le ragazze si fanno tanti problemi a farti quella cosa che ti piace tanto eh carned!!!!! :-)troppo simpa…ncmq intendevo a farti il famoso risotto con la pianta butyrospermum Parki cos’hai capito!!!!!!!!! Click https://twitter.com/moooker1


Leave a Reply

