Sangrita

January 8, 2007

sangrita.jpg

I’ve never tried the Prozac, but I imagine it’s effects to be similar. Before we flew over the mountains and past the endless lights of Mexico City, I didn’t imagine an airport to be a destination. I innocently ordered a Cazadores Reposado. The first thing that hit the table was a large cucumber hollowed and filled with a blood red concoction. The elixir was sweet, salty, sour, bitter and umami all at once. As the waiter instructed, I sipped the tequila and the sangrita alternately.

As we headed for Sala 21, a warm feeling came over me. I felt safe, secure, like I had a rocket in my pocket. It was like being in the womb, David, with tequila.

Don Miguel passed me the recipe on the way out in exchange for a big tip.

Sangrita

16 roma tomatoes boiled and peeled or 24 oz tomato puree
Juice of 6 oranges
Juice of 6 limes
1/2 small white onion
2 serrano peppers deseeded
1/2 scotch bonnet deseeded (rub the other half on your genitals)
1 heaping Tbs raw sugar
1 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients in your Oster until smooth. Don’t whip too much air into it, that’s for poofs. Strain and chill. Pour into a hollowed cucumber or mix with a 100% agave and call it a Bloody Maria.

One Response to “Sangrita”


  1. […] should have a rustic feel, so not too small. Drain and dice the tomatoes, reserving the liquid for sangrita on Saturday. Sautee the shallots, garlic and red pepper flakes in olive oil over low heat for 2 […]


Leave a Reply

