Negroni

June 6, 2007

negroni.jpg

We just returned from a grueling journey to Pescara. After spending all day requesting adjustments to the Fall line in a boiling hot sweatshop, this refreshing, summer cocktail hit the spot.

The bitter sweet flavor is so delicious, Jennifer and I were dancing on the table before we left for dinner. Unfortunately, it was a very old, rickety, Italian table. Jennifer landed on my concussion and I’m still nursing my wounds. I don’t blame Fabrizio.
Negroni The Official Cocktail of Summer ’07

1 ounce Campari
1 ounce Juniper Green or your favorite gin
1/2 ounce sweet vermouth

Shake gently with ice and strain over cracked ice. If you like your cocktails sweeter, use a full ounce of vermouth. Proceed with caution.

5 Responses to “Negroni”

  1. Mara Says:

    Saw this on Tastespotting. Looks like the perfect aperitif. Gorgeous photo, too. Never had a Negroni but heard of it. Must try!


  2. […] Negroni [image] We just returned from a grueling journey to Pescara. After spending all day requesting adjustments to the Fall […] […]

  3. bruce Says:

    You are talking one of my favorite things! It has been the national drink at my house for years. Here’s my ode to all things negroni-ish: http://wineguyworld.blogspot.com/search?q=camilo+e+gaspari

    Also love your handle on tastespotting….jjonahjameson….too good!

  4. Ouroboros Says:

    Such a fine drink! So many recipes call for equal portions of the constituents, but I agree with your measures: less sweet vermouth.


  5. […] I heard, “Baby, are you Gay?” We had been celebrating all week and thrown back quite a few negronis the night before, but for the life of me I couldn’t think of anything that would make […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

